

Johnson County Fire Protection District

122 W. Young • Warrensburg, MO 64093 • (660)747-5220 • Fax (660)747-9791 jcfpd@jcfpd.net • www.jcfpd.net

Chief Larry W. Jennings
Assistant Chief Dee Bennett
Board President Mark Lenger
Board Vice President Aaron Collett
Board Member Scott Hackler
Secretary/Treasurer Mackenzie Schuette

NEWS RELEASE - Thursday, December 12, 2024

Years of Service Recognized

WARRENSBURG, MO – Following Tuesday night's Board of Directors meeting, District firefighters were recognized for completing the District's Recruit Firefighter Training Program, a 14-week introductory course for new employees with no prior firefighting experience.

Additionally, several District personnel were honored for reaching significant milestones in their years of service, including:

BC James Fitterling - 30 years Retired BC Jeremy VanWey - 27 years Retired FF Jack Hart - 25 years Captain Joe Jennings - 20 years FF Jimmy Tawzer - 20 years Captain Nick McDaniels - 15 years Lt James Wilson - 15 years Lt HR Zellner - 15 years FF Antonio Evans - 15 years Lt Ben Burd - 10 years FF Chris Gibson - 10 years Lt Tom Anderson - 5 years FF Christopher Arwood - 5 years FF Will Crowden - 5 years FF Orry Harbit - 5 years FF Lambert Short - 5 years FF Caleb Thompson - 5 years

After the presentations, Fire Chief Larry Jennings shared, "Volunteering with the District, alongside their regular jobs and personal lives, takes a special person—one with strong self-discipline, passion, and dedication. Seeing new firefighters, fresh from their basic training, alongside those being recognized for decades of service, truly highlights the strength of our team."

Established in 1979, the Johnson County Fire Protection District serves approximately 520 square miles in the eastern two-thirds of Johnson County, Missouri excluding the cities of Knob Noster and Warrensburg. The District is a 24-hour per day service with a full-time Chief and Assistant Chief, three full-time Firefighters, and more than 130 volunteer members from diverse backgrounds.

The District is always hiring and needs new volunteers to serve out of one of the District's twelve stations located in or near Burtville, Centerview, Chilhowee, Columbus, Cornelia, Fayetteville, Knob Noster, Leeton, Valley City and Warrensburg.

More information about the Johnson County Fire Protection District can be found online at www.jcfpd.net.

<Photograph Included>



Johnson County Fire Protection District

122 W. Young • Warrensburg, MO 64093 • (660)747-5220 • Fax (660)747-9791 jcfpd@jcfpd.net • www.jcfpd.net

Chief Larry W. Jennings
Assistant Chief Dee Bennett
Board President Mark Lenger
Board Vice President Aaron Collett
Board Member Scott Hackler
Secretary/Treasurer Mackenzie Schuette

For more information contact:

Captain Joe Jennings, Public Information Officer 122 W. Young Avenue, Warrensburg, MO 64093

Office: (660) 747-5220



Front Row L to R: BC James Fitterling - 30 years, Lt James Wilson - 15 years, Retired BC Jeremy VanWey - 27 years, FF Caleb Thompson 5 years, Captain Joe Jennings - 20 years, FF Jerald Finley - Recruit Graduate, FF Elane Runyon - Recruit Graduate, Asst Chief Dee Bennett

Back Row L to R: Chief Larry Jennings, Lt Ben Burd - 10 years, Captain Nick McDaniels - 15 years, Lt HR Zellner - 15 years, FF Lambert Short - 5 years, Retired FF Jack Hart - 25 years, FF Austin Atchley - Recruit Graduate

Not Pictured: Lt Tom Anderson - 5 years, FF Will Crowden - 5 years, FF Christopher Arwood - 5 years, FF Orry Harbit - 5 years, FF Chris Gibson - 10 years, FF Antonio Evans - 15 years, FF Jimmy Tawzer - 20 years